Watusi’s back! And so is the East Buntyn Artwalk!

Watusi the Talking Dog #42It’s been a long time coming, but I have a new Watusi issue for sale, featuring an ALL-NEW lead story! In “Copied by the Copy Cat”, Watusi crosses paths with an equally chatty animal … and it doesn’t go well! This issue also features a 3-page “Bad Joke Funnies” segment (originally published in 2022’s “cheese” issue of Bob Corby’s Oh, Comics! #30), where Watusi & many of his supporting cast deliver some real clunkers!

This issue has what I think is some of my best writing and some of my best art … unfortunately they’re not in the same story! “Copy Cat” has been in the works for a ridiculously long stretch of time, first appearing in my sketchbooks waaaay back in 2008! I had the beginning, the ending, and the cover idea all in one burst, but the meat of the story took a little while longer (to say the least!) to come together. As my Watusi comics began to favor the long-form stories I’ve gravitated to in his online comics, original stories for this print edition have become less frequent. But this is one that demanded the ability to be read in one sitting; its effect would be negated if it was spread out over a dozen weeks! It was a good little writing challenge for me, and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. Plus, I’m glad to be moving beyond the three anthology stories I’ve completed so far this year to get one of my own publications completed and in print!

Watusi the Talking Dog #42 is a 16-page black & white digest w/ full-color covers; ask for it at your comic shop of choice, or get a copy by mail via my Square store (or old school mail order; direct order info on my Contact page) for just $3.00 postpaid in the US. Prefer digital? You can find it on my Gumroad store (for $2.00 US), too! You can also find copies at my next festival appearance …

Also a long time coming, the East Buntyn Artwalk is back! Saturday, April 20th marks the post-pandemic return of one of my favorite festivals, and has me excited to get out of the studio and share my new work (plus much of the work I’ve done since the last Artwalk in 2019, including a series of prints of Memphis’ iconic recording studios).

User comments

I’ll be setting up my tent at 490 Prescott Street from 10-5 as part of an amazing open-air bazaar of artist pop-ups in the front yards and porches of the inviting and walkable east Memphis neighborhood, located just to the west of Highland. It features a diverse range of artists working in a variety of media, from watercolors and oil paintings, to photography, pottery, woodworking, jewelry … and even comics! This was such a fun show (both as a customer and as an exhibitor) in past years that I hope this year’s event will be able to recapture that spirit. Come on out; it should be a good time! Admission is FREE, and the event is child and pet friendly.

Hope to see you there!

One thought on “Watusi’s back! And so is the East Buntyn Artwalk!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.